Getting the Junk Out of Our Trunk After 50


Ok, I really have to get this diet and exercise thing on a roll. I missed posting last week as I was away helping out a family member. It seemed like I was always on the go, never getting more than two quick meals per day, and I did get a case of water into me. But still I managed to gain two pounds. It was over 90 degrees everyday, I had to keep the dog on the leash and walk her several times a day. I mean where did two pounds come from?

Stress. As I understand it, one of the hormones that is produced when you are stressed out causes you to retain weight.My husband is handicapped, so when we go off on an excursion I have to do it all. All the packing, loading luggage, driving, unpacking, walking the dog, make his meals, plus the work I did for the family while I was there. I missed a class while away, the hotel promised internet and then I could not connect all week. Cant check the bank account, talk with other family, or write my post. Still it’s that two pounds that really bugs me.

My post was supposed to be about what my plan was to get going on my diet/exercise program. I was going to post my stats and lay out my plan to loose 20 lousy pounds…now its 22! This is where the challenge part comes in. Since I have been doing a lot of extra walking I am going to keep it up, hope the dog enjoys it!  Here are my numbers weight 148, height 5ft2in, bust 38.5, waist 36, hips 44, thighs 24.5. I am putting this ‘out there’ to help me be accountable, but I also see it a a motivating opportunity.  I will work on a before picture to post next week. That ought to scare you, the very thought scares me!

My diet plan is not extreme at all, increase lean protein while cutting or eliminating salt, sugar, and fat. Decreasing all portions by 25%, increasing activity by 25%  to start. I has been awhile since I really worked out with weights so I want to be careful not to get hurt. I have an eliptical/ bike, weight bench, hand weights, and a weighted bar. I love to rollerblade, so once I get stretched out, I hope to get back to that also. That is where the walking will really come in handy, it helps you with your breathing, which for me is so important, as I have exercise induced asthma.

Going back to the stress thing, I didnt know I was stressed, because I help my husband everyday, I just feel busy all the time. But the body registers it differently I guess, and at this age it is showing up on my body. I feel that this is an important thing I am doing for myself in so many ways. We all know that exercise is a great way to reduce stress, but putting that plan into action is difficult when life moves so fast sometimes. I would love to hear how you cope with stress, and any diet or exercise tips that have worked for you. Maybe a couple of recipes too!

Leave a Reply

