Getting the Junk Out of Our Trunk After 50


Yes, all overweight people have heard that one.  Eating healthy has come a long way. No longer restricted to carrot sticks and celery, dieters have a many more choices from online menu’s to packaged meals that are delivered to you by mail. Heck, you can even have real Chef prepare meals and deliver them in some places. But, most of us are fighting the battle of the budget, as well as the bulge.

In Florida, something is always ‘in season’. Road side stands with fresh strawberry’s, peaches,tomatoes, corn and beans are not hard to find, and with the competition among local farmers, nicely priced. Every place has its ‘season’, and if you have a local farmers market it is the best way to begin your quest for fresh produce. Generally the markets run from late spring into fall, that covers 4-6 months of fresh food. Check your Sunday paper in the local section for days, location, and times for your market.

Out of season requires a little more planning, and for me, coupons. Yes I use them, and yes, sometimes its  a pain, making sure you get what the coupon specifies, etc. Extra time at the register, the glaring looks of the customer behind you.  But when I sit down with the family at mealtime and I average out the cost per portion, that’s where I can see the real advantage of coupons. If we eat it or use it, I try to find a coupon for it. Especially soap, toothpaste, and other items that we don’t eat, but do use everyday. Saving on these items means more money for real food, and better food.( When I went to purchase a car, I had a $500 coupon, and they honored it!)

Eating healthy is not the chore it used to be. The variety of fresh food available at the local level, frozen section in the stores, and other delivery methods make it a lot easier to eat right.  Shopping sales and using coupons will help keep you on budget. It does take an effort in planning , but well worth it to keep you on track to ‘not another diet, but a lifestyle’ of healthy eating.

Comments on: "Not a Diet, A Lifestyle" (12)

  1. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    • Kirk…I am new to the rss thing and have tried to set it correctly. Thanks for letting me know and thanks for your positive comments. Virginia

  2. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  3. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  4. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  5. Nice! I have been looking for info like this , thanks for posting, fresh diet.

  6. I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

