Getting the Junk Out of Our Trunk After 50

Healthy Eating


You don’t have to look far to find a diet these days.  They are everywhere in magazines, online, and entire books are written for the diet industry. Yes, there I said it, Diet Industry.  Remember that old saying ‘ You are what you eat’ ? Well if all you consume is fast food or highly processed stuff, then most likely you are fat. There I said it, Fat. Another ugly word that no one wants to be, yet one third of Americans are overweight.

Ok, I am not using these words to condem, or hurt anyone’s feelings. I have seen 205 lbs at 5 feet 2 inches…that makes me a 5×5. I have also seen 102 lbs, thin, gaunt and ribs showing like a refugee. Hey, I was finally skinny, but I hated the way clothes looked on me. Never happy right? When your Doctor tells you that you are too small for your frame, it has to make you think.

I started looking at food much differently. I like to cook (and eat!). I am a pretty good cook and can follow a recipe. At 54 years old I am active enough and enjoy working out. So where is the balance? I just want to hit a medium weight that I can maintain without too much effort. That’s when I started looking at the glycemic index. Its the ranking of foods based on their immediate effect on blood glucose (blood sugar) levels. Here are some of the things I learned

  • Low GI means a smaller rise in blood sugar and can help control diabetes.
  • Low GI diets can help people lose weight and lower blood lipids.
  • Low GI diets can improve the body’s sensitivity to insulin.

How to switch to a Low GI diet?

  • Breakfast…have some. Don’t skip this important fuel. Cereal based on wheat bran, barley or oats.
  • Grainy breads made with whole seeds.
  • Pasta and rice instead of potatoes
  • Vinegar or lemon juice dressings.

Build a good plan including Low Glycemic foods. Hunger is minimized and there is less reason to over eat and these types of foods help you stay full longer. You can continue to lose weight and maintain your weight more easily. It also helps with mood swings and regulate energy levels.

I am not an expert or a Dietician, just a girl that has been too fat or too skinny and never happy with my ‘size’. The best advice is the advice that you use. Its all in our hands and we can start right now….just google  glycemic index and you can get loads of information.  Next we can talk about that little tag on our clothes, you know the one you cut out because you don’t want anyone to know your dress size? Been there, done that too.

Leave a Reply

